first wood frame church at this location, pictured in 1879
The structure as it stands today is the ruins of a church that was a forerunner to the First United Methodist Church. The portion that still stands was the church’s vestry with the main sanctuary sitting to the west. The south wall of the church also stands as a portion of the exterior of the Press Building. The remains of the church were uncovered when a warehouse building on the site was demolished for parking. The Bass Family determined that they would preserve the Vestry and the wall as a reminder of Fort Worth’s past.